Read Kendrick Lamar Letter To Tupac Shakur

Kendrick Lamar kept Shakur’s memory alive by releasing To Pimp A Butterfly near the 20th anniversary of Me Against The World, nearly naming the album Tu Pimp a Caterpillar, at the end of the song Lamar reads a letter to Tupac. This letter was later published on Tupac Shakur’s website. Kendrick Lamar’s new album “To Pimp A Butterfly”, was originally supposed to be called, “Tu Pimp A Caterpillar (Tu-P-A-C)” in honor of Tupac.

According to Lamar, “Me changing it to ‘Butterfly’, I just really wanted to show the brightness of life and the word “pimp” has so much aggression, and that represents several things…For me, it represents using my celebrity for good. Another reason is, not being pimped by the industry through my celebrity.”

I was 8 yrs old when I first saw you. I couldn’t describe how I felt at that moment. So many emotions. Full of excitement. Full of joy and eagerness. 20 yrs later I understand exactly what that feeling was.

INSPIRED.

The people that you touched on that small intersection changed lives forever. I told myself I wanted to be a voice for man one day. Whoever knew I was speaking out loud for u to listen.

Thank you.
K.L.

